你在这里

什么是Greenshoe在IPO中使用的是什么?

Greenshoe如何在IPO中工作,它是什么?

“Greenshoe”这个名字来自Green Shoe Manufacturing Company(现称为Stride Rite)。 这是第一家使用Greenshoe的公司 IPO。 法定名称是“超额选择权”,因为除了拟提供的股份外,还为承销商预留了额外的股份。 这种类型的期权是唯一获得美国证券交易委员会批准的方法,以便在确定发行价格后,承销商合法稳定新发行股票。
美国证券交易委员会允许这一选择提高IPO筹资流程的效率和竞争力,并且只允许全面承诺的IPO - 通常只有承销商提供更大规模的IPO 首次公开募股。 小型S-1 IPO和Reg A + IPO 它们很小,因为它们仅限于50磨机,通常是通过Best Efforts承销制造的,SEC不允许使用Greenshoe。

价格稳定

这是greenshoe选项的工作方式:

承销商充当联络人,为其客户的新发行股票寻找买家。
卖方(公司管理层)和买方(承销商和客户)确定股价。
一旦确定股价,他们就可以公开交易了。 然后,承销商使用所有法律手段将股价保持在发行价之上。
如果承销商发现股票有可能低于发行价,他们可以行使绿鞋选项。
为了保持价格控制,承销商超额或短至15%的股份比公司最初提供的更多。

例如,如果公司决定向公众出售1百万股,承销商可以行使其绿鞋期权并出售1.15百万股。 当股票定价并可以公开交易时,承销商可以回购15%的股份。 这使得承销商能够根据初始公共需求通过增加或减少供应来稳定波动的股价。

如果市场价格超过发行价格,承销商不能在不产生损失的情况下回购这些股票。 这是greenshoe选项有用的地方,允许承销商以发行价回购股票,从而保护他们的利益。

如果公开发行股票的交易价格低于发行价,那么它就被称为“破产问题”。 这可能会产生一种普遍的印象,即所提供的股票可能不可靠,可能会诱使新买家出售股票或避免购买额外股票。 为了在这种情况下稳定价格,承销商行使其选择权并以发行价回购股票,将这些股票退还给贷方(发行人)。

全部,部分和反向Greenshoes

承销商回购的股份数量决定了他们是否会行使部分绿鞋或全绿鞋。 部分绿鞋表明承销商只能在股价上涨之前买回一些库存。 当股价在股价上涨之前无法回购任何股票时,就会出现一个完整的绿鞋。 当发生这种情况时,承销商行使全部选择权并以发行价购买。 greenshoe选项可以在产品发布后的第一个30天内随时行使。

底线

greenshoe期权降低了公司发行新股的风险,允许承销商拥有购买力,以便在股价下跌时弥补空头头寸,而无需在价格上涨时购买股票的风险。 作为回报,这使股价保持稳定,使发行人和投资者受益。

相关内容:

使用法规A +让公司公开的成本

曼哈顿街头资本的IPO咨询服务

法规A + IPO的时间表

You are here

What is the Greenshoe used in IPOs?

How does the Greenshoe work in an IPO and what is it?

The name "Greenshoe" arises from the Green Shoe Manufacturing Company (now called Stride Rite). It was the first company to use the Greenshoe in an IPO. The legal name is "overallotment option" from the fact that in addition to the shares intended to be offered, additional shares are set aside for the underwriters. This type of option is the only SEC-sanctioned method for an underwriter to legally stabilize a new issue stock after the offering price has been determined. 
The SEC allowed this option to enhance the efficiency and competitiveness of the IPO fundraising process, and it is only allowed for Full Commit underwritten IPOs - which are generally only offered by underwriters for larger scale IPOs. Small S-1 IPOs and Reg A+ IPOs which are small because they are limited to $50 mill, are usually made via Best Efforts underwritings, for which the SEC does not allow the use of the Greenshoe.

Price Stabilization

This is how a greenshoe option works:

The underwriter acts as a liaison, finding buyers for their client's newly-issued shares.
Sellers (company management) and buyers (underwriters and clients) determine a share price.
Once the share price is determined, they're ready to trade publicly. The underwriter then uses all legal means to keep the share price above the offering price.
If the underwriter finds there's a possibility that shares will fall below the offering price, they can exercise the greenshoe option.
In order to keep pricing control, the underwriter oversells or shorts up to 15% more shares than initially offered by the company.

For example, if a company decides to sell 1 million shares to the public, the underwriters can exercise its greenshoe option and sell 1.15 million shares. When the shares are priced and can be publicly traded, the underwriters can buy back 15% of the shares. This enables underwriters to stabilize fluctuating share prices by increasing or decreasing the supply according to initial public demand.

If the market price exceeds the offering price, underwriters can't buy back those shares without incurring a loss. This is where the greenshoe option is useful, allowing underwriters to buyback shares at the offering price, thus protecting them their interests.

If a public offering trades below the offering price, it's referred to as a "broken issue." This can generate a general impression the stock being offered might be unreliable, possibly inducing new buyers to sell shares or to refrain from buying additional shares. To stabilize prices in this situation, underwriters exercise their option and buy back shares at the offering price, returning those shares to the lender (issuer).

Full, Partial and Reverse Greenshoes

The number of shares the underwriter buys back determines if they will exercise a partial greenshoe or a full greenshoe. A partial greenshoe indicates that underwriters are only able to buy back some inventory before the share price rises. A full greenshoe occurs when they're unable to buy back any shares before the share price rises. The underwriter exercises the full option when that happens and buy at the offering price. The greenshoe option can be exercised at any time in the first 30 days after the offering.

The Bottom Line

The greenshoe option reduces the risk for a company issuing new shares, allowing the underwriter to have buying power in order to cover short positions if the share price falls, without the risk of having to buy shares if the price rises. In return, this keeps the share price stable, benefiting both issuers and investors.

Related Content:

Cost of taking your company public using Regulation A+

IPO Consulting Service from Manhattan Street Capital

Timeline Schedule for a  Regulation A+  IPO